Let’s get started: Yamdu is a cloud-based project management software providing the structure you need to effectively manage every element of production under one roof, while avoiding redundant work that wastes time and effort.
If you want to tag specific crew members in a comment, just start with the @-character and continue typing the name. A drop-down menu is shown, where you can pick one or more users to tag. If users are already part of a conversation within an object, they will be notified automatically.
The “Files & Documents” section is the central file sharing section of Yamdu, for all files that are not directly related to a specific tool.
The “Files & Documents” area is first divided into “Rooms”, and then into “Objects”. It is pretty much the same as “binders and folders”. It’s the place to store any interesting files, but there is also additional information available like access rights, comments, tasks, etc.
You can search for files by using the search field in the upper right corner. You can also change how files are sorted and viewed.
If you drag a file into an object and drop it on an existing file on the Yamdu server, Yamdu will ask you if it is just a new version of that same file. If you click “Yes”, the newest file will be shown, and older versions are archived and can be found by clicking on detail view. If you click “No”, the new file is simply uploaded right next to the existing file.
You can mark important objects by using the 'pin-icon’ in order to pin them directly on your dashboard instead of clicking through the “Files & Documents” section.
Collecting suggestions: If you are in a casting or scouting process, you can select “collect no suggestions”. In this case you can simply collect files and comments on your character, set, etc., without specifically adding actors, filming locations, etc., to this object. It is just a “collecting process”.
OR: If you add suggestions by using the “plusicon” and select an existing item or start typing the desired name and click “create”, your suggestions can first only be seen by your department. You need to click on “publish” first to show your suggestions to other crew members with access rights for the specific area. Once a suggestion is supposed to be final, just click on the “star-icon” and everyone involved gets a notice. This might sound complicated, but in fact it is an easy way to allow departments to first work among themselves before sharing with others like the director, DoP, etc. If something changes afterwards, you can always undo this step and go back to your former suggestions.
If you think you get too many mails, just have a look at your user settings in the upper right corner. You can edit your e-mail and push notifications in general and / or project by project.
In every area of Yamdu you can always clearly see which users have a right to see and edit all comments and files in that area. So you can always reassure yourself quite easily that you are are sharing ideas and information with the right people.
If you think you should have access rights to a certain area that is hidden or locked, please ask your project administrator to provide the necessary rights. An admin can either edit all access rights by user in the crew section or edit users directly within the access rights area of a specific object.
In some areas you need to confirm your changes by clicking “save”. It is important to do so, since you are in a cloud-based environment and otherwise your changes will not be stored on the server. If you attempt to exit certain areas without saving, you will be notified before you exit to avoid any lost data.
If you think your changes have had no effect or you are missing a file just uploaded, please try to refresh the browser first. For Windows users: Press “Ctrl + F5”. For Apple: Press “Command + R”.
If you have any questions, encounter any problems or have any new ideas, simply click the support bubble in the bottom right corner to get in touch with our support team.